Stations of the Cross

For Roman Catholics throughout the world, the Stations of the Cross are synonymous with Lent, Holy Week and, especially Good Friday. This devotion is also known as the "Way of the Cross", the "Via Crucis", and the "Via Dolorosa." It commemorates 14 key events on day of Christ's death. The majority of them concern His final walk through the streets of Jerusalem carrying the Cross.

Fourteen stations of the Cross depicted by life-size statues crafted in bronze and resin in aged hues are located on the Basilica grounds along a path that spans almost one mile.The project for adding The Way of the Cross took more than five years from initial concept to its dedication in October 1993. It consists of 30 life-size bronze figures.
Italian artist Edmund Rabanser brought the statues to life. A master woodcrafter, he created the appropriate expression of each different Station in a truly unique form. Meticulously carved in wood, these life-size figures were then reproduced in bronze. The solid oak crosses offer a contrasting difference in medium.
Set in natural stone, each station offers a visual opportunity for quiet reflection. We invite you to prayerfully reflect at home as you wander virtually through this Via Crucis.

Station 1 Jesus is condemned to death

Station 2 Jesus takes His Cross

Station 3 Jesus falls for the first time

Station 4 Jesus meets His mother

Station 5 Jesus is helped by Simon

Station 6 Veronica wipes Jesus' face

Station 7 Jesus falls for the second time

Station 8 Jesus consoles the women

Station 9 Jesus falls for the third time

Station 10 Jesus is stripped of His clothes

Station 11 Jesus is Crucified

Station 12 Jesus dies on the Cross

Station 13 Jesus is taken down from the Cross

Station 14 Jesus is buried



 How to follow the way of the Cross